New bee keeper - best place to buy a hive?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexander

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello to all

So, Im new to the bee keeping world, and I mean new! I am starting a course this week, to learn the basics, and I am looking to get a hive asap so to make the most of the spring pollen.
I have looked round the net, but not sure if an ebay second hand have is a good idea, or a flat pack one thats new. Im a pretty practical guy, so building one shouldnt be a problem, and I am not fussed at all by a second hand unit. Cost is an issue to start with, as there will be a lot of kit to buy.

What do you guys/gals think? and where to buy from, who are the best people?

Thanks in advance, Alex.

I would personally buy new flat pack. 2nd hand you have to faff with sterilising it to ensure no disease. Start clean.
And all best wishes- have you got a mentor lined up.... best way.

Have you decided on which type of hive you want?
Have you had a chance to handle bees in different hives to find which suits you best?
Do you know the most favoured type in your area?

All may be answered on your course. I waited until after theory course and handling tutors bees. He runs commercial hives, but I found the short lugs too fiddly so I went for Nationals - easy to obtain bees on National frames.

Got one colony from tutor and given two swarms ( cast or small swarms). Did not get first lot until June. All built up into good size, and got a small honey crop, and all have survived winter - so far!

I would suggest you take your time before rushing in and possibly repenting at leisure.
I used Th****s flat pack budget hives and found them to be a bargain.

Have fun and welcome

See thread 'A supplier of quality wooden hives'