New and unknowledgeable

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DALEGREEN

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am very new to beekeeping having captured a swarm that escaped into a bush from a colony in my roof. With Covid I have not been able to attend any courses but have been reading, u tubing and following this forum to try to obtain the relevant knowledge. Despite this my hive inspections have been more a miss than a hit. At first the bees were pretty unfriendly and I got stung 4 times when I tried to do my first inspection so I invested in a more protective suit. Even with this I have found it difficult to identify a queen or distinguish capped honey from brood. My National hive brood box is pretty full of bees and drawn comb but they have always ignored the super when I put it on. My question is that given that the hive is very active now in October some 4 months after the swarm took up residence can I assume there is a laying queen. Would the original bees have died out by now without one?
I see that on here many recommend as little disturbance as possible and I have not tried to inspect for the last month. What do I need to do other than feeding and insulating to get them over the winter.