My first Swarm Collection

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrTrueman

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
My first Swarm Collection/Bee removal

I have had my first call for swarm collection. It’s not a typical “they are hanging off my tree” type call. The person has gone to have a loft conversion and the builder had a surprise when he lifted the insulation!

Now my gut feeling is it may not be honey bees and may also not be accessible, but the guy has ensured me that they are not wasps!

Just wondering what you guys think the chances are of them bee honey bees?

I have also been thinking what I should take with me? As it is indoor I guess smoke is out :D and I will use a water sprayer. What do you guys put in the bottle is it very light syrup mix?

I know I am very new to all this but my feeling is I will just take a look and make up my mind from there…At the end of the day I don’t really have to do anything if I don’t like the situation.

If it looks easy, my plan is the following:
If I can get at the comb I will get as much out as I can with as many bees as I can and get them in a travel box. Check if anyone is fanning and wait to see if any flying bees are going to new box. Then maybe leave for 24hrs and collect later.

My concerns are where the loft entrance is, with regards to flying bees etc.

I’m I mad!?

Last edited:
I have had my first call for swarm collection. It’s not a typical “they are hanging off my tree” type call. The person has gone to have a loft conversion and the builder had a surprise when he lifted the insulation!

If they are honey bees you are not talking about swarm collection. This is colony removal and is an altogether much more difficult job as the colony will be established.