Microscope

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Busy Bee

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Yesterday I was in Smyths toys and came across a childs (11-15) microscope it was 100x 200x 600x 1000x 1200x comes with some tools etc etc for 19.99 Is this a good buy or really only for kids. Does anyone know the model I am talking about your thoughts please.....ooh it needs batteries for the light, I think...

Busy Bee

members please be reminded that what is on sale is a children's toy not a microscope for detailed analysis of bee diseases. I have not come across this type so I have no knowledge of its capabilities. You get what you pay for.

I would like to buy a microscope, suitable for checking for nosema and also viewing pollen. I too don't want to spend a fortune but could do with some advice please! Make, model, where to buy and approximate cost, and most especially why your recommendation.

Many thanks.

I have one of these,

http://www.365astronomy.com/bresser...1.html?zenid=8f8419245433235883287859b5159479

As an introductry microscope it's a fair bit of kit.
they were on offer at Lidil in Jan this year for about £50.
Optic are clear controls fair USB cannot get to work wrong computer
system. I belive several forum members have this model how are you getting on with it.

I have one of these too and found it more than adequate for my needs. I got it from Lidl for £50. If I get more enthusiastic about microscopy then I'll look for something better.

I spent many hours trying to get the USB device working as the supplied software is not good.

I'll post some pictures tonight so you can get some idea of what it is capable of doing.

Time to get out and see what's happening to the bees ...