Langstroth hives

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frenchie

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
I now have a site for my bees for next year and a promise from my local bee association of bees.I plan to have Langstroth hives with Hoffman frames.Where is the best(cheapest) place to buy cedar hives and how many Bits (supers,brood boxes,etc) do I need for each hive.Will probably only start with one or two hives as its my first year.Thanks

Hi,

Welcome to the forum and beekeeping. I started with 1 brood and 2 supers for each of my hives and you will find many beginners kits contain 2 supers. I had 3 supers on each of my hives last season as we had a good early honey flow so by late July you may need 1 more.

Good luck

Marc

Hofmanns fine for brood box (10) but some argue manley better for supers (although hofmanns work OK)

3 supers per brood box min, but 4 even better.

The 2 hive makers on here don't make langstroth and believe it or not I have found T*****s to be the cheapest.

Last edited:
Frenchie

May I just enquire as to why you have chosen to go with Langstroth hives?

Marc

Will be moving to France in 2012 and Langstroth hives are the only type used there.

Have they stopped using Dadant in France then?

I would suggest going for poly hives to be honest unless you really want to go for cedar. If you do pickup any kit it will be compatible anyway.

Hi Frenchie,

I know that you specifically asked about cedar but (unless you've already dismissed the idea) if you're thinking of Langstroth then it may be worth checking out the polystyrene hives which 'Modern Beekeeping' down in Devon sell. I've not used them myself but have enquired with a view to buying some for next season; you'll struggle to find cheaper in wood.