Journalist questions regarding UK hive thefts

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daniel Gibson

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi all,

I'm a student journalist at Cardiff University, and I'm currently working on an in-depth article for the Shorthand website regarding the recent spate of hive thefts over the past few years - in particular the theft of a million bees from Brackley bees in March. Now, I'm trying to do this with a greater degree of accuracy than the Daily Telegraph typically manages, so I would love to hear the opinions of the community as a whole rather than just one or two specific sources.

Specifically, what do you think has caused the recent rise in hive thefts? How do you think the thieves are most likely to sell their stolen property? And what measures are you taking to protect your hives (if any)?

Finally, as someone largely unfamiliar with the industry, I am curious: just how much are queen bees typically worth?

Any help you can provide, or other angles you think are worth exploring, would be really helpful. Thank you! :)

how long is a piece of string. A well bred queen from know parentage is worth just under £40 ish. A million bees ...... lots of bees in a hive! 60,000 ish.
The honey is worth money, the bees are worth money £350 ish for all the bees in a hive, the queen is worth money and the equipment is worth money.
You will get loads of other answers on this I should think!
E

Hi all,