Is it safe for me to have a beehive?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frichieb

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi all,
I am intersted in building a beehive for my back garden. Iv'e done a bit of research on the internet and gathered a few plans. I would be very grateful for any one to offer me advice as to what to do concerning what type of bees to have, what (if any) legistation there is concerning keeping bees.. i.e if my neighbour gets stung by a bee, will i get sued. And any other hints and tips you have to offer.
Sorry if i come across as being a bit thick, but i am new to this but i would like to 'do my bit' to reverse the decline of the humble bee.
Many thanks,
Rich.

I live in Lichfield, Staffordshire.

Last edited:
Hi Rich, welcome to the forum.

I'd advise that you meet ( + Join) your local Beekeeping Association before you get any bees. You can then find out how you are 'with bees' ( as being with an open hive full of bees can be intimidating for some)
rgds, Tony

Hi Rich, and welcome. The answer to is it safe depends rather on the detail- how big is your garden, how close will it be to your neighbours when they are sunbathing etc etc. I had bees in my garden last year and will again next (they are having a little holiday at the moment), and I know quite a few people who do have them in their gardens without problem. However they can turn nasty, in which case it's as well to have somewhere else to put them until they get it out of their system. If you join your local association, they may have an apiary site you could use for emergency fallback.