Introducing a Queen

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
WBC
Number of Hives
There seems to be conflicting advice in the books. So, a question:
I have a large Q- colony and a Q+ nuc. I'm contemplating introducing the queen from the nuc into the Q- colony.
How long do I leave her in the queen cage in the new colony before releasing her onto the frames?

Because (and again, this is Books for yer..) the ones I read said that the Q+ colony should go on top. And the smaller one should go on top. My Q+ nuc is obviously smaller than the Q- colony, so I was a little confused.

I think that I'd prefer to unite - but I've never done it before.
So, nuc frames into a BB on the stand. Newspaper under a QE. Then the BB with the main Q- colony on top. That's it..?

Yes
It actually doesn’t matter which colony goes on top. It depends where you want the colony to be in your apiary.
I do prefer to put the smaller colony on top ONLY if that’s the queenright one. I feel she’s safer up there

and others say .........."The colony without a queen should always be united on top of the queen right colony, not the other way around."
and .....the cushman site says........"I have united many colonies using the newspaper method and had few problems. I have found it doesn't matter whether the queen is in the top or bottom box, but I think it is better to have the stronger colony on the bottom."

I suppose that the only reason I was hesitating was that I considered the scenario where the smaller Q+ colony was in the bottom BB. Whilst the newspaper regulates the 'meeting' of the bees in the upper BB with those new ones in the lower BB, the returning foragers will all tend to come into the lower BB and I was hesitant because I was concerned that that might cause a problem.