Insulation

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Good morning. I’m in South Wales, relatively new to beekeeping and I’ve only got 2 National hives (cedar). Thinking about insulation for winter - does anyone swap their sheet metal covered cedar roofs for deep poly roofs (from Abelo)? Is this a good idea or not? I understand 75% of heat is lost through the roof so an insulated roof is better than no insulation, but is the Abelo poly deep roof compatible with a cedar national? Thanks in advance - I have little experience with over wintering and rain/wet here is a bigger problem than low temperatures.
A simple question but it opens floodgates 🤔 I've slowly migrated to abelo 14 x 12 /national polyhives. Prior to the changeover I made slip on rigid hive cosy's to use instead of wooden roofs. They kept heat in during winter and out in summer. Most were made out of 1" kingspan seconds joined with adhesive and pinned with skewers then joints sealed with adhesive foil tape. Maybe not as thermally effective as 2" or thicker but a vast improvement on a bit of traditional soggy carpet or foam sponge on the crown board. Waterproof and windproof too☺️

Attachments

• DSC_0141.JPG
    DSC_0141.JPG
    573.9 KB · Views: 13
Good morning. I’m in South Wales, relatively new to beekeeping and I’ve only got 2 National hives (cedar). Thinking about insulation for winter - does anyone swap their sheet metal covered cedar roofs for deep poly roofs (from Abelo)? Is this a good idea or not? I understand 75% of heat is lost through the roof so an insulated roof is better than no insulation, but is the Abelo poly deep roof compatible with a cedar national? Thanks in advance - I have little experience with over wintering and rain/wet here is a bigger problem than low temperatures.
Where in South Wales are you?