I think my bees are about to swarm advice please

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grangebees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello All - I am new to beekeeping. Someone kindly gave me a very old hive last year and in july a swarm took possession. I have read up as much as I can and have gone to a beekeeping weekend, but it is still difficult without experience

I had checked the hive (from outside) this morning and pollen going in and bees active. About 3 ish I saw the first drones I have noticed, and there were quite a few of them, there seemed to be more bees about, and I opened the entrance, a bit (it has been quite cold until today)

Went for a cup of tea, and heard something buzzing about, and outside the front of my old stone house (about 400 yds from the beehive which is in an apple orchard) quite a lot of bees were flying around, and going in and out of a crack leading to the false ceiling to my vaulted bedroom. ie completely unaccesible, and potentially dangerous as the bees would easily have come into the bedroom and sitting room below.

Got a smoke bomb on a stick (have had to use these in the past as hornets often build in the stone walls of my house near to the doors in just too dangerous a position to be tolerated)

I certainly hadn't seen a swarm, and the time scale was really quite short - could these have been excited scout bees? Anyway they didnt like the smoke bomb, and dispersed/disappeared after about 3/4 of an hour.