Honey without an extractor

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perry

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I'm new to beekeeping this year and so far so good with three heavy supers. One is full with the cells capped so I want to get the honey out. I do not have an extractor. Someone told me I can cut out all the frame, cells and foundation, melt the lot in a pan so the wax rises to the top, then after the wax solidifies, make a hole in the wax and pour out and filter the honey.

Does this sound workable? Any other advice? I just have the one hive.

are you a member of a local Beekeeping association? they usually have at least one extractor to hire / borrow

:iagree:with tonybloke it would be a waste of good comb . there must be beekeepers in your area who will loan you one

the simple answer to your method of heating it, is NO, heat will destroy both wax and honey unless you control the temp very well

i would suggest you decap the comb and just rest the frame on it side on a bowll and drain it in the airing cupboard ( warm but not to hot,) turning the comb over to do the other side

but seal it over with cling film otherwise half of the bees and wasps within a mile will join you

OR see hedgerow Petes homemade extractor video

Last edited:
Please don't do that. You need to know exactly what you're doing if you heat honey.

If you haven't access to an extractor, then at least two simple options are open to you.

1: See the Youtube on 'crushed strained honey' I posted today. You'll need a bit of readily available but cheap kit.

2: Just cut it into blocks and keep the air away from it. A tad messy but clingfilm will do the job for now.

Someone told me I can cut out all the frame,