Hived swarm supersedure

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deaner666

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
Number of Hives
Hi all - just looking for some reassurance / guidance here.

I'm in my second year of beekeeping (but the first in which I should get some honey!). Me and my beekeeping buddy (me mum!), caught a swarm in a bait box about 6 weeks ago.

On our first inspection after moving them into the apiary, we found three large queen cells, all unsealed.

I guessed these were supersedure cells, which seemed perfectly natural to me (old queen leaves old hive to start a new one elsewhere, bees replace her with a virile new queen).

The three cells were all still visible on subsequent inspections and always unsealed. There was a gap of about 2 weeks between two of the inspections due to weather. I did wonder if a new queen had been hatched during this period.

However, I inspected the hive last Wednesday (25th July) and found all three queen cells sealed. So I guess they've only just now got round to performing the supersedure.

Am I right to leave the bees to get on with superseding by themselves in this situation (if superseding is indeed what they're doing?). Somebody from the local association said I should destroy two of the queen cells and just leave one to hatch - why would this be? Surely the bees rear more than one cell for a reason?

Are there any further actions I should take once the new queen is hatched? Anything I need to do to ensure she's properly mated etc.?

Cheers,

Dave

Hi again,

If they are supercedure cells I would leave them as is, and let the first virgin sort it out.

Once she has hatched, re: mating, there isnt much you can do apart from pray for a few days of consecutive nice weather around lunchtime :)