Hive made from foldable grocery crate -- your thoughts?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ugcheleuce

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
7-10
G'day everyone

I'm a beginner beekeeper and I wanted to put all my beekeeping stuff together in one place, so I got myself a foldable grocery crate from the local grocery store. When I placed one frame in it, I realised that the crate is almost the perfect size for the frame. So I wondered whether it would be feasible to turn the crate into e.g. a brood box.

I've attached my preliminary idea in a PDF, to this post. I may have made some mistakes with the measurements etc, and perhaps this is the silliest idea you've ever heard of, but I would still like to hear about your thoughts.

For the sake of some conversation on-forum, here are the questions that I ask at the end of the PDF itself:

1. Would it be okay for me to use stationery/packaging grade styrofoam inside the bee hive? Won't the bees nibble take the styrofoam apart? With what can I treat the styrofoam to protect it from the bees?

2. Can I get away with using 8 mm hardboard for the lid and/or tray, or must I go for something thicker? Obviously the board would be painted against rain damage.

3. Would there be sufficient insulation in this box? Keep in mind that the only thing between the bees and the cold (if you don't warp the hive for the winter) would be 20 mm of styrofoam plus about 5 mm of newspaper/cardboard, plus a thin layer of hard plastic.

4. What effect would it have on the crate's ability carry weight if I cut a hole in the crate bottom? Normally the crate is strong enough to carry groceries that weigh a tonne if you have to carry it from the car to the kitchen.