Hi all

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
150 +
Hi all and a warm welcome from sunny West Wales (who am I trying to kid ?),

I’ve been a member of the forum for some time but never posted would you believe!!

A country boy at heart, I’ve been keeping bees on and off for 20+ years and been steadily building up my colony numbers. I’ve been helped enormously by my mentor Ricky Wilson who is local to me and a stalwart member of the BFA (For those who don’t know Ricky personally, he is also the BFA Regional Director for Wales and is an absolute fountain of knowledge). With Ricky’s expert advice I’m now running 100+ colonies and growing year on year.
Due in part to Ricky’s enthusiasm, I started queen rearing (open mating and also II) a number of years back. I'm now meeting my own needs with my own queens (tough and hardy Welsh mongrels at the moment!).
Naturally, I’m hoping to continue moving forwards and breed better queens etc. but it does take quite a lot of time and effort. Apart from the actual workload there is also the difficult breeding ‘selection process’ to contend with.
I hope I can be of help to the members on here. However, due to the pressures of work you may not hear much from me during the busy part of the season.
I look forwards to interacting with you all and happy beekeeping!

Hi all and a warm welcome from sunny West Wales (who am I trying to kid ?),

I’ve been a member of the forum for some time but never posted would you believe!!