Help needed by a newbie.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skidsolo

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi again everyone,

Here is my first question.

As mentioned in my intro thread, I'm new to bee keeping and have only had my hives for a couple of weeks.

I live on an old farm and my bees are located in the front garden.

Over the top of the house and in another courtyard we have a nettle jungle that I want to spray with weed killer.

Bearing in mind the current temperatures, is it safe to keep our bees in for 24 hours while this is done?

Thanks.

Al.

Should be no problem as long as you use weedkiller rather than insecticide!

Nettles are quite easy to kill by repeated mowing or strimming, but I assume that's not practical.

in another courtyard we have a nettle jungle that I want to spray with weed killer.
It's quite likely that at this time of the year there will be butterfly caterpillars and other insects feeding on nettles. If it can wait, the non chemical best bet is probably to leave them to die down naturally in autumn and strim as they emerge next spring.

And add unwanted nettles to a water tub to get great (smelly) plant food - just leave in for 2 days. I put in black bag- tear a few small holes and submerge.
but.. Use, dont get rid- unless they are a nuisance to humans- and yes, the insects will enjoy + benefit- your choice....

and definitely do not block bees in at the mo- far too hot. Unless moving- and then only with a travel screen. I have bees bearding at 7 in the morning..

Thanks for the advice guys.

I did wonder about the temperature, which is why I asked.

I'll hold off on the weed killer and strim them down instead. They really are a major problem.