HELP! Advice! I think a swarm has turned up in my "hive"

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

einsteinagogo

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
enough (but all insured!)
Okay, so I'm a newbie Beekeeper, which has done several courses, on keeping bees, but I wait to actually acquire some this year. Have worked with Mentors, and friends with their bees.

Until I think today....a friend of mine, gave up and depostied an empty brood box, hive excluder, four supers, hive top on a wooden pallet on my drive. I was going to flame and clean, before relocating to our allotment site (another thread). This hive has no floor, no cover board.

I noticed today, honey bees, around a nucleus box in my garden, which I have flamed, cleaned, and put in new brood comb, I've not been feeling to well today, so have rested all afternoon, with my feet up.

I heard a lound humbing through the privet hedge, I thought there was a swarm in the hedge, only to find many bees, flying about the "hive components" on the palet on the drive, not too good, because you would have to walk past to get to our cars! Went to inspect, and I can here a very loud humb coming from within the boxes! (not looked yet!). Waiting for my partner to finish up in the garden, before opening.

Advice please...I already have a complete hive (floor), (roof), (coverboard) on hive no.1,

Q1. Could I just check where the bulk of the bees are on the frames, and if in the brood box, move this box, with excluder in place?

Q2. Ideally, I wanted the bees on my allotment? would it be best to move straight away (allotment is less than 3 miles as the crow flies) or move to my other empty hive in the garden?

Q3. or should I leave a few days? (we can always walk around to our cars?)
Any other advice greatly received, it's been a real surprise!