Has anyone used Amitraz for treating varroa?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonyofarr

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am looking at different varroa treatments once I have removed my honey (I will hopefully get some this year). I read somewhere that Amitraz is now licensed for use in the UK and that previously it was available for use under the cascade system.

I have no experience of using Amitraz, nor do I know anyone else who has used it. Has anyone here used it, was it effective and more importantly how did it affect the bees ? Also where was it bought and how much would it cost to treat each colony? Thanks.

I am looking at different varroa treatments once I have removed my honey (I will hopefully get some this year). I read somewhere that Amitraz is now licensed for use in the UK and that previously it was available for use under the cascade system.

I have no experience of using Amitraz, nor do I know anyone else who has used it. Has anyone here used it, was it effective and more importantly how did it affect the bees ? Also where was it bought and how much would it cost to treat each colony? Thanks.

Not sure it's a good choice of treatment. We've seen resistance develop against previous synthetic treatments. This might be another saga starting. No matter how detailed the instructions might be there's always a few comedians who think they know better than the manufacturer, under dose and the rot starts.
There's thymol based treatment, formic acid and now oxalic acid sublimation or trickling.
Oxalic based treatment costs pence per hive

To answer the OP question. I have used amitraz in the past. It's good and very effective no effect on the bees except they lost their blood suckers. You need to find a vets practice that will issue you with it.