Foundationless Frame - Comments?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John M

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I don't know if it is acceptable to discuss an article from the latest BBKA magazine here... but I guess I will find out quickly and clearly :)

For those that haven't seen it, it looks like a dummy board made from thin ply (the size of a frame). Over half the area is routed out from the centre in a large rectangle with rounded corners. It is a work in progress by James Slade (Devon) and seems to be an interesting developement which I will be following with interest.

As you can see I am now in my second year of beekeeping and so have all the necessary knowledge to express a considered opinion. :rolleyes:

Please let me know what you think

A foundationless frame why stop at one or from your description some sort of altered dummy board.

I have not seen the article but plenty of people don’t bother with foundation in their framed hives myself amongst them it is far more interesting and the bees seem very happy with the arrangement but then they would.

Hi, I read that article with interest. It all sounds fine and I wish the chap well with his experimenting. It seems to be sturdier than comb on just a top bar. For frames that need extracting I should think some wire reinforcement might be needed.
Personally I have had no problems with conventional wired foundation.

The Germans cut out drone brood frames and replace empty, the bees draw fresh drone comb . (Usually these two frames are culled on alternate inspections) This system gives the bee keeper a clue into the hive mind when the cut out comb is replaced by worker celled comb !.
As for patent applied for ? don't know how this would be granted? nothing novel in my eyes ?
VM

I posted these before, Dadant and Warré frames with no foundation.