Feeding syrup for comb building - when should I stop?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WoodlandRob

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Hi everyone. I have recently put a nuc into a hive, so they have a lot of work to do this summer drawing out enough comb to fill their brood box. I read that you give them sugar syrup to help them build comb - so I have done.

The weather is nice, the bees are flying and collecting. Plenty of bees in hive taking the syrup too. Guessing they are getting/taking the sugar and pollen that they need and that this is all fine.

Question is, do I keep feeding syrup until they have drawn their whole brood box out? Only remove it when I add a super (if I even get chance to this year given the amount of work they have to do in the brood box)?

Many thanks. I am a slightly nervous newbie so support is appreciated!

Feeding now is to simulate a flow. If they are "collecting" and bringing in nectar, a flow is on and I would not feed. I am sure others would in this situation however. ( I try not to force my bees to do stuff) A feeder which is slow, such as a contact feeder fools them into thinking it is a flow and they will use the syrup. If a rapid feeder is used they will store the syrup and that could contaminate supers later.
If you do feed then stop as soon as frames are drawn. I would shuffle the frames as they are reluctant to draw against the box walls

Feeding now is to simulate a flow. If they are "collecting" and bringing in nectar, a flow is on and I would not feed. I am sure others would in this situation however. ( I try not to force my bees to do stuff) A feeder which is slow, such as a contact feeder fools them into thinking it is a flow and they will use the syrup. If a rapid feeder is used they will store the syrup and that could contaminate supers later.