Efb ?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nige.Coll

Drone Bee
Beekeeping Sponsor
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
some + a few more
ok i'm new at this
i have read and looked at every thread and all internet info on this .
One hive smells wrong.
I didn't see any flakes or odd cappings, dodgy brood but I am reluctant to inspect again due to weather.
the brood pattern was ok not patchy.
but when topping the feeder up it was an odd smell.
It was sickly sweet not like other hives. Could be ivy but not sure.
There is EFB about 8 miles away from these bees and some idiots have left supers out for robbing/cleaning.( this caused a row at the association meeting.i called the secretary a cock .) so little help from them now.

I'm reluctant to inspect now due to weather. Bee inspector has finished now also.
I have 2 hives in this area and have refused to move anymore to the site until i know.

other info
these hives don't belong to me i just look after them the farmer bought them in early may.

hive 1 smells odd comb in hive isn't nice a lot looks like it is made of chocolate but i haven't had time to change it due to other problems and lack of knowledge. I was planning on changing comb next spring.
They had thrown some brood out but i thought that was due to starvation as when i looked they had no stores in early august and suffered badly from sprays uptil then.

hive 2 has mainly new comb as it was an AS from hive 1 and has a lot more bees and seems a lot healthier and doesn't smell the same even though it is 2 feet from hive 1. This hive also suffered from sprays and starvation problems but has recovered better.

In all honesty i would struggle to spot efb if they had it.
the hive doesn't smell nasty but it does smell different than any other i own.

Little i can do about it now i guess but i am conserned.