Drone laying and how to unite.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fullframe45

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
4 --5.
Last week i became suspicious one of my hives (the Q)has started laying drone brood and today i found several frames with drone combe only and what few eggs i could see were singles so i asume she is a drone layer and need to sort this out. I am thinking of buying in a mated Q . so am i right in thinking i will have to find and kill the drone laying Queen first and if so what is my next move and timescale .I have never done a Q unite before so this is my first allempt. Thank You.

No worker brood at all just drone brood on 5 frames . Once she is destryed how soon can i introduce a new mated Queen. Thank you

Sorry to drag this out but as this is a first for me i am hoping it to go as smoothe as possible. So as i said previously no worker brood only drone and some eggs and quite a lot of uncapped honey. As this hive is DB and there are a good number of bees in it plus the Q is not marked and i have not got the best eyesight for spotting her i was thinking of shaking all the frames into an excluder to make sure i can find and remove her. Now if all goes well i should just be left with a Q- hive and several frames of just drone brood.So do i then fill the brood box with spare drawn frames and pollen some stores and omit the drone frames .Or add them to it. Hope this makes sense what i mean.I have a mated Q on order and she should arrive in 3 /4 days. Thank you.

Drones are really only a drain on a colonies resources. At this time of year the bees are thinking about ejecting them. You need to add a couple of frames of soon to emerge brood from another colony to this nuc you intend to introduce a new queen into. Bin the excess drone brood