Drinking water for Bees

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

understanding_bees

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
I want to help my bees as much as possible, to thrive, so that their colony can succeed and survive year by year (and that I can get some honey as well!) Although I am fairly new to this role as a beekeeper, the things I have read (and my own observation) indicate that bees do not always automatically do as well as we would like. Not all hives survive a cold winter, and they can have a difficult time in a hot summer when conditions can be very dry.

I realise that here in Australia we are six months out of phase with Northern Hemisphere countries, and also that some bee keeping countries do not have the same very dry conditions that we have here.

Last summer there were days when I observed large numbers of bees bearding on the outside of their hive box, because (apparently) it was rather too warm for them inside of their hive. I had provided a source of water for them, but they had not found it. As it turned out, I had to service my evaporative air cooler (in the heat of summer), which then drained water onto the roof and into the gutter which contained leaves and debris. I cleaned out this debris from the gutter, and while it was lying, sodden, on the ground, some bees found those very wet partly composted leaves which had been in the house gutter.