Drawing out starter strips

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I've never tried on this scale before so I'm not sure what to expect and it occurs to me that it could go horribly wrong. A bit of reassurance from those who have done it or have found what seem to be more reliable methods would be most welcome.

If I give a colony an entire brood box of fresh comb, alternating between full sheets of foundation and starter strips, are they likely to draw it out straight? I'd like to think so, but I have a niggly-naggly little doubt that they might begin by drawing out one of the starter strips, perhaps misalign it with the frame and then mess up every other frame to keep them in line with each other. Would it perhaps be better to have them draw out the starter strips between existing drawn frames?

Thanks,
James

Mine occasionally have built them slightly lopsided if alternated with foundation. I have had more reliable results with starter strips in-between drawn combs

I've never tried on this scale before so I'm not sure what to expect and it occurs to me that it could go horribly wrong. A bit of reassurance from those who have done it or have found what seem to be more reliable methods would be most welcome.

If I give a colony an entire brood box of fresh comb, alternating between full sheets of foundation and starter strips, are they likely to draw it out straight? I'd like to think so, but I have a niggly-naggly little doubt that they might begin by drawing out one of the starter strips, perhaps misalign it with the frame and then mess up every other frame to keep them in line with each other. Would it perhaps be better to have them draw out the starter strips between existing drawn frames?

Thanks,
James