Double brood advice

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flyboy

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am asking for advice surrounding an addition of an extra broodbox for laying space.
My colonies are currently on OSR and supered and I am vigilant for them to swarm so just want to keep them happy and obviously maximise honey crop.

Will it work to put a new undrawn broodbox underneath for them to expand into?

Any other opinions or advice welcome

I just want to prevent them from storing nectar in the broodboxes instead of the supers and its my first year having great strong colonies and using double brood.

I decided to run double brood this year, and so far so good - loads of bees building up really well.

I put any foundation frames (undrawn) above the bottom box to encourage quick build up (warm upstairs) and they have drawn it out in no time at all, queen busy is both boxes.

Should be easier to find swarm cells (bottom of top box) and have the flexibility to manipulate precautionary or reactively, but there's no sign of swarming just yet.

PS - my double boxes have no supers yet - will add when stores could become prohibitive to laying space. I think the key is to keep it simple and let the bees tell you what's required.

Im sure an experienced beek will be able to add more

add a brood box underneath the current one and they will expand downwards into it but mind, if you do not give them plenty of supered room on top they will store honey at the top of the topmost brood box

You can do it either way but I normally put the new box on top, with a few frames from the bottom box to help them up.

Or if you can find the queen, why not simply Demaree them? You should end up with two brood boxes and it helps with swarm control.