Did the bees die?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TooBee...

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
2+ nucs
Over the northern hemishere in 535 to 536AD the sun was obscured and temperatures did not rise above 9c, with frost occurring during summer! That’s over two and a half years of effective winter!

Scientists broadly believe this phenomenon was caused by a massive volcanic eruption resulting in a Volcanic Winter (think Nuke Winter without the Nukes).

The climate would have been worse the further north you went, with freezing conditions during these non-summers, with it being less severe nearest the equator; there is some evidence that eastern / equatorial Africa was little affected – where the bees could have survived.

I’m no expert by far on bees overwintering abilities, but could someone here please explain to me how a colony could have survived this Long Winter; if they could not have, then it is safe to conclude that in the upper northern hemishere they did not survive.

Assuming one accepts the occurrence of this long winter in 535 to 536AD, explained below from Wiki
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extreme_weather_events_of_535–536
am I correct in my conclusion that the bees died here in the islands of Britain and Ireland?

Here is a more complete documentary from YouTube, there are many other sources and even other explanations as to the cause of the extreme weather events of 535-536AD – the Long Winter, but broadly speaking it’s occurrence is not disputed, I’ve been aware of published scientific papers on this going back to the 80’s.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKUz5Vjq9-s
and
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JBdedLx-GI