Demaree question

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

Curly green finger's 

Apiculturist to the bones!
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
3,562
Reaction score
1,615
Location
Titterstone clee South Shropshire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
Over 50
Hi I have 9 demareed colonys done over the last two weeks.
Most have got one super between brood boxes, 4 had two but I split them and put the second above all the brood.
Q is it a good idea to keep the middle super with as much comb as pos because these boxes seem to be getting used to store lots of nectar, obviously moving it through on up stairs. Photo attached of colony 11.received_255393796383792.jpegalso at this stage with this colony I've put all the capped honey in the very top box the, second one down has about 5 drawn comb checkered put in yesterday, brood box 8 frames of capped brood which is getting also back filled as they emerge capped honey to the out side frames.
I've just put demaree boards in, I do it 5 days after the demaree is manipulated,
I plan to move some eggs in to the brood boxes next inspection as well as brood frames to roll the demarees in the hope of some queen cells would you suggest to aid the supersedure process if they need another super to put it between brood boxes?
Thanks
Mark.
 
Last edited:

Erichalfbee 

Super Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
22,922
Reaction score
4,495
Location
Ceredigion
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
13
Demaree boards go in the day you set it up. Two supers between broods and any new ones on top. Bit late to be setting up rolling this time of year. By all means set up your Demaree then take the top box away when you have queen cells
 

Curly green finger's 

Apiculturist to the bones!
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
3,562
Reaction score
1,615
Location
Titterstone clee South Shropshire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
Over 50
Either that or just let them backfill the frames with honey
This is what they are doing on most, the harwthorne flow is still good here probably another few days and clover was getting worked yesterday walking around the hills you say rolling a demaree is it to late?
 

LeaBees 

House Bee
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
131
Reaction score
46
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
3
...and if the supers between the brood boxes are full and ready to be extracted, how i this cleared please? Put them above the top brood box with a clearer board?
 

LeaBees 

House Bee
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
131
Reaction score
46
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
3
OKay I will leave them to fill the brood with honey unless I have cells.
About to check on demaree done last week. One potential that I havent seen commented on; what if there are no queen cells in the top box? Just leave the brood to fully emerge and bees use it as a super? No issues with extracting from once brood filled frames?
 

Erichalfbee 

Super Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
22,922
Reaction score
4,495
Location
Ceredigion
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
13
Yes. If the queen pheromone is strong or if i have only one super between broods. I use simple QXs with an entrance cut out.
If you use one of JBMs boards I should think pheromone might be weakened so QCs more likely.
 

jenkinsbrynmair 

International Beekeeper of Mystery
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
27,268
Reaction score
4,870
Location
Glanaman,Carmarthenshire,Wales
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
Too many - but not nearly enough
Have you ever had a demaree that did not produce Qcells ?
Thanks
Yes, it happens, a lot of the time you get a queen with rrally strong pheromones and it mat take two or three attempts with fresh frames of eggs/larvae being put up top for them to hopefully have another go.
I had one colony that steadfastly refused to make QC's and I was desperate to get a nuc or two off them so eventually I just made up a Demarree in the hive next door and moved frames over from the stubborn colony and got QC's on them that way.
 

Parsonage Bees 

House Bee
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
359
Reaction score
69
Location
Lincolnshire, UK
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
6
Got just one QC when first set up (yet to emerge in nuc) and I'm using a JBM type board.
Check them again earlier. Top box has many lonely drones. Workers have headed down to be with the queen. Swapped a couple of brood frames that were mostly capped.
DSCF20210616-05-small.jpg
 

Curly green finger's 

Apiculturist to the bones!
BeeKeeping Supporter
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
3,562
Reaction score
1,615
Location
Titterstone clee South Shropshire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
Over 50
Got just one QC when first set up (yet to emerge in nuc) and I'm using a JBM type board.
Check them again earlier. Top box has many lonely drones. Workers have headed down to be with the queen. Swapped a couple of brood frames that were mostly capped.
View attachment 26760
I'm checking on mine on Friday.
I'll post my findings
 

Latest posts

Top