Demaree - First Impressions

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
WBC
Number of Hives
Caveat: I'm a beginner (second season) so please take my observations with a pinch of salt. But they might be helpful or at least prompt better informed comments from others...

I wanted to try the Demaree method of Swarm Pre-emption rather than merely relying upon Swarm Prevention (I'm probably using the wrong terms, but you know what I mean). The theory of the Demaree is set out well in various books and in the sticky thread on this forum. It seemed on paper to be a good idea and so I thought I'd give it a go.

My challenge was that I have WBC hives and, as far as I can tell, the Demaree is optimised for single-skin hives. So, for I while I struggled with the issue of how (and if) I could provide an entrance for the upper Brood Box - congniscent of the fact that I gather that Mr Demaree didn't specify an entrance there at all but that nowadays most feel that some sort of provision is required to allow hatched drones to get out.