Damp/Mouldy Inspection Tray

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

curry756

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello,

Again I am new to beekeeping. I have just been and cleaned my inspection trays and noticed that one of them was bone dry and the other was damp and had a few areas of mould. It has rained a lot here over the last 2 days - even my house started leaking.

Would this worry you? Also, a stupid question, but you are meant to leave in the Inspections Trays right?

:thanks:

Both hives have new untreated cedar open mesh floors. The one thats damp has a new untreated cedar brood body too. The dry one has a old brood body, assume its cedar, but its very old.

How long have you had the trays in for?

Craig

Most people leave their trays out all year apart from when they do a varroa count and when they treat in the autumn and that's what I have done.
This year though I have cut a 3 inch hole in all the boards and am leaving them in.
Beekeepers of old had solid floors.
I suspect the hive with the dry floors has enough ventilation.
The other....you need to find out if the hive is leaking or there is condensation dripping on the tray.
Have you got insulation on the top?

Hello,

Also, a stupid question, but you are meant to leave in the Inspections Trays right?

:thanks:
Not that stupid, if you haven't been told. The inspection trays should only be put in when you need to check the mite drop or when treating with Apiguard/MAQS (also handy in winter to see where the cluster is in the hive by seeing the deposits of cappings where they are either uncapping stores or brood is emerging) All other times open mesh floor should be left well, open :). You'll start a debate on this now but mine are always open unless treating or checking mite drop.