Creating beeswax pellets

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simoncav

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hello all,
I've had a request to provide beeswax in pelleted form. Has anyone else out there already done this?

Is it possible to use the sort of pelleting machines used to create wood pellets for wood burners?

Thanks in advance

Is it possible to use the sort of pelleting machines used to create wood pellets for wood burners?

Mechanically, wax and wood are rather different ... so I wouldn't hold out much hope.

What quantity of wax are you hoping to pelletise?

For what use? An air rifle to shoot cats maybe!

Not meaning to be on the attack, but is not the sort of answer that is being criticised for on the other threads?

I am far from an expert, but I believe candle makers like pelletized wax as it is easier to melt with less risk of burning.

Just an (untried) idea ... what about a lead shot type process, dripping molten wax into cold water? (Soft, rain or at least pre-boiled water, naturally!)

I've been told that grating wax with a cheese grater gets it into a suitable state for candlemaking - haven't tried it myself though.

I've been told that grating wax with a cheese grater gets it into a suitable state for candlemaking - haven't tried it myself though.

Suspect it'd be a PITA to clean after but food processors have grater attachments...

Just an (untried) idea ... what about a lead shot type process, dripping molten wax into cold water? (Soft, rain or at least pre-boiled water, naturally!)

The wax would splash and leave a non uniform mass!, however a roll mill press for wood pellets could be made to work, but would need to rotate 10 times faster, and have the pressure adjusted so that there is barely any pressure at all.