convert from TBhive to National

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Appinpiper

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
TBH
Number of Hives
This is my first year and I started with a home made TBH I purchased a Nuc in June and have a strong colony with loads of stores as I took nothing from them.
I have now two Nationals (empty) and feel that this is the method that will suit me so my question is - How is the best way to convert over to the Nationals and when ?
This may seem a simple question to you but I would welcome your knowledge and help as I want to do what is best for my bees.
Thank you to any one who replies to this ;)

I would say a shook swarm in spring once the temp is up a bit.
Set up the national with foundation in the BB over a floor. Put an empty super over it then brush the bees off the top bar combs into the super and smoke the bees down into the BB.
Then possibly treat with OA. remove then empty super, put crown board on and roof.
This process may be "interesting"

Hi, you're probably the nearest forumer to us :)

Late Spring, but as someone who borrows brood frames occasionally from our tbh for the commercials (and my littlest's National) I wouldn't want to waste any good frames of brood. They can be cut and wired into empty Nat frames easily with elastic bands or frame wire and stores fed back from over the crown board.

Hope you find straight Nats to be big enough. If you need any help to sort it out just let me know.

If you want to do the best for your bees leave them in the TBH and operate it alongside your National(s). Transferring them to another hive is p****** them around too much.

Is the TBH suitable to a) blank off any horizontal expansion and b) place a brood box with foundation, over the brood nest? May need a template for b) but if so, it is easy enough.