complete noob needs some adivce

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ghostman11

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
first of all sorry for not doing enough research and trawling thru the forum and google first, unfortunately i only have 36 hours in wich to compile a report for a planning meeting so i need some answers pretty quick if thats ok. i know its bad form to do it this way but things have kind of been sprung on me last min.

so to explain the situation.....
we run a small holding and our 3-5 year planning meeting is in a day or so. what we normaly do is plan in a small conservation project every 2 -3 years to run along side the small holding business, previously we have done things like a wildlife pond of about 1/2 acre, we leave at least 1 1/2 acres totaly untouched for 3-4 years on a rotation basis as we have a large population of various owl species in the area so we try and help the local mice and voles wich helps the owls! we also have a good population of 3 diff bat species in one the outbuildings. along with various bird box's etc etc etc...

now whats this got to do with bee's?????
well after a few too many beers in the pub the other night discussing what sort of project would be next. someone had the bright idea of BEES!!!!!
instead of the headgerow project i was going to put forward!
so i duely fired up the holy google and entered the mystical words into the oracle. BIG BIG mistake! it took all of 35 seconds to realise the first problem would be to learn the acient and incomprehensiable language beekeepers use.
i have no idea what a nuc is!