Cheap extractor

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

manek

House Bee
BeeKeeping Supporter
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I've been noticing the number of cheap extractors on the market recently - I'm fairly new to this so up to now I've relied on others to loan me theirs - and I'm tempted to spring for one. What are the disadvantages of the (roughly) £150 four-frame extractors, size aside? Anyone bought one and regretted it?

As always I've bought as I needed and regretted it. Had a two frame manual, a four frame manual, 9 frame manual and now a 9 frame motored jobby. So all in all its cost me way more to do it that way than have gone straight for the motorised 9 frame jobby.

The cheap end of the mkt are the consumable end IMHO ie breaks throw it away and get another one. If your not extracting much the simplist way by far is join a club and borrow theirs. Its cheaper and you get to try out before you buy.

For my money from all those I have used and looked at, Giordano are pretty much up there for quality and service and their motorised version is damn good, motor not drill.

I’m happy with my four-frame manual extractor from Simon the Beekeeper, though in hindsite, and in hopes of a bumper crop one day, maybe I should have got a six- or 8-frame one. The one disadvantage, and something I didn’t factor in when choosing it, is the lack of space below the spinning gubbins. It starts dragging in the extracted honey very quickly unless I keep a careful eye on it.

I bought s/h a 4 frame extractor on ebay. Came with a built in 50 liter extraction tank.. used twice, half new price of £390..Sold by Maisies originally..

If patient, there are bargains - out of season