Best National Hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gwt_uk

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello all,

What’s best budget cedar national hive to buy? Have looked at Caddons and Simon the Beekeeper and they look to be good quality.
Thanks

Hi

I got mine from Simon, and was impressed with them - good quality in my opinion but then I am new to this !!

Best budget would be Maisemores seconds KD in their sale .. and glue and screw them up yourself

If you want the best... well there is a chap up on Exmoor who used to have time to post on the forum... who possibly makes the best WRC National hives that money can buy!

Exmoor Bees

Chons da

I definitely like the quality of Caddon's , but most of my kit is Maisemore seconds in the sale. The only downside of course is that you have to wait until sale time or plan ahead!
I use STBK for most other bits and pieces, because their prices are usually good. If you're just starting out and don't have a lot of hives to buy for, or just need one or two odd items they make it more affordable when some of the other big suppliers charge a hefty amount for the postage that isn't really worth it unless you've buying a lot. However, I only have a couple of supers from them, so can't comment on the quality of their other hive components like floors, roofs etc.

Best budget would be Maisemores seconds KD in their sale .. and glue and screw them up yourself
Chons da
And they will have their first 'virtual convention' one day sale on the 13th of March this year. the sale list will be published the week before

fb.jpg

I can vouch for Caddon. I have had 7 hives from them over the last few years, and the quality of both the timber and the machining are absolutely first rate. Like, really good.