Bees nest in roof somewhere ??

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lloyd

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi Folks, Im a builder and working on a house refurbishment project in Kirkham, Lancashire. Im pretty sure that bees as nesting in the roof somewhere as there has been many coming into the lounge area and when its sunny there is a lot of activity outside with them flying in and out underneath the roof tiles All the ceiling are down inside the property, but no obvious sign of a nest. Would it be possible they are in the soffit or under the tiles but above the roofing felt, hence me not being able to see anything from inside? Any suggestions on getting them found and removed humainly would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• bee.jpg
    bee.jpg
    360.1 KB · Views: 37
Thanks Dani, I have requested to join that group. Just for reference what type of bee is the one pictured in the post?
Ah...Is that what you are seeing?
These are tree bumbles. Bombus hypnorum. They often nest in soffits. The nest will be maturing in six weeks or so and they will disappear.
Sorry I didn't look earlier

PS. If you are not intending to go in the roof you can safely leave them alone as the nest isn't permanent. Pretty soon the queen will produce drones and more queens for the next generation and the existing nest will die off. They can be defensive if they are disturbed though but working near where they fly shouldn't be a problem. The nest will be only a couple of hundred strong.