Bees facing eviction! Help

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dickndoris

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Will keep this brief and maybe someone might be able to help?

Have been keeping bees now for 3 years at the same spot. It is a very sheltered piece of land at the side of my house. I have been tending this land for 15+ years in varying degrees. It is a flood plain and is owned by a local building firm who because of the nature of the land can not get permission to build on it as it really does flood.
The bees are kept behind a hedge which is around 30' tall and maybe 10-20' deep. You can just see some hives if you know what to look at. It is open to the south with a small maybe 4' hedge and meadow/grass land. Dog walkers walk along a path, not a right of way on the otherside of the 30' hedge running parallel to it. The field is maybe 5 acres at a wild guess and runs down to the river.
So, a as in 1 dog walker complained to the builder who in turn has said his firm is liable to 3rd party insurance claim so move the bees in 7 days or else they will do it and send me the bill. They have said they can issue a licence to keep bees there but at a cost of £500 per 6 months! I have tried to explain I have 3rd party insurance through BBKA but it seems not to sink in. All neighbours are great ref bees. Just one dog walker that maybe passes twice a day for 60 seconds! I don't know who.......yet......

So, does anyone have advice on what he means by a licence?
Is £10 million enough cover?
Can they demand the bees are moved in 7 days?
My veg and fruit trees were not mentioned.
Does looking after or tending a piece of land for so long stand me in a good legal position?