Beeks not in Associations

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Apiarist

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
too many for one apiary
I was reading a now closed Thread and it made me remember a conversation with a Bee Inspector here in Northern Ireland, he said that the UBKA has about 850 members, but in his opinion there were an additional 750 beekeepers NOT members of any of the Northern Ireland Associations... 1600 beeks in total ! ! ! mmmm....... I would trust his assessment, especially as he has access to information not available to beekeepers (they're very strict about Data Protection, very..)

I have limited knowledge of beekeeping in the South (Rep. of Ireland) or on the island of Britain, but what is the opinion (what are you basing your opinion on??) of the members on this forum, of how many beeks are not members of Associations in Ireland (the country) and Britain (the island)?

Just wondering?

I know of three beekeepers locally not members of any Association. Pro-rated, that would give 600 in North Staffs.(But many members would not perhaps know anything like that if any at all)
Prorated to BBKA membership (NStaffs has 200) that would give c130x600=78,000. (BBKA membership c28,000)

I would say that is a gross exaggeration

On my allotment site there have been two failed attempts at beekeeping by plot holders who didn't join an association, there's also a long term beekeeper who isn't in an association either and she's completely inept with her hives being essentially unmanaged but inhabited stacks of supers and brood boxes (one doesn't even have a floor) and her area littered with unclean equipment and old comb left out in the open - some of it's been there for years. :confused: