Applying Fondant in a WBC Hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
WBC
Number of Hives
Beginner here... I plan to put fondant into the hives later. I've read that it should be placed directly onto of the frames, over the brood.
So, idiot question: what exactly does that mean?
Do I simply place the uncovered block on top of the brood box?
Do I leave the side and top of the block covered to stop it drying out? Does it matter?
I've read somewhere that I should roll it out onto the top; is that so and why?
Finally, I'm assuming that the whole fondant arrangement needs to be contained within the hive in order to conserve heat etc. So I'm planning to put an empty super (no frames) on top of the brood box, put the fondant in the super box (on top of the brood box frames), and then put the crown board on top. Is that about right?
Grateful for any advice from WBC hive owners.

If fondant is your autumn feed
Cut a big slit in the bag put whole lot over QX surround by super
If it’s a syrup top up then don’t bother till February when it can either go in a container over the feeder hole or rolled out and put on top bars

Several different ways to feed fondant now, most of them fine.

Putting fondant directly on the top bars is fine (cut holes in bottom of bag as mentioned above - leave top and sides covered), or you can put it on a queen excluder.