Any mistakes in Celia Davis 'The Honey Bee Inside Out'

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RosieMc

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am studying for Mod 5 Honey Bee Biology.

I have a second Edition of The Honey Bee Inside Out by Celia Davis and notice that on Page 11 under Antennae she says that the pedicel and flagellum consist of 11 parts in the worker and queen and 12 in the drone. Is this a mistake?
I thought there was 10 in the worker and queen and 11 in the drone

Are there any other misprints I should be aware of before I swot up?

Also (Mid Bucks et al) say that 10 HDA is 10-hydroxydec-2-enoic acid
Yet others say 10HDA is 10-hydroxy-2-decenoic acid

Which one is correct? Or are they all the same?

Thank you so much for any help

Don't know about the Antenna, but "10-hydroxydec-2-enoic acid" is meaningless - it has to be "10-hydroxy-2-decenoic acid"

9-hydroxy-2-decenoic acid?:)

9 oxi-2-decenoic acid for prevention of queen rearing while HM in session and supression of worker ovaries and 9hydroxi-2-decenoic acid for satbility of colony and swarms it is said by a 'calming ' influence

Last edited:

I have a second Edition of The Honey Bee Inside Out by Celia Davis and notice that on Page 11 under Antennae she says that the pedicel and flagellum consist of 11 parts in the worker and queen and 12 in the drone. Is this a mistake?

11 worker and 12 drone. extra one they say is for picking up the scent of queen during mating flights. ( Chanel number 5 does it for me!):)

9-hydroxy-2-decenoic acid?:)

9 oxi-2-decenoic acid for prevention of queen rearing while HM in session and supression of worker ovaries and 9hydroxi-2-decenoic acid for satbility of colony and swarms it is said by a 'calming ' influence

Thank you so much for your replies