Ambrosia

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foxhill

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi everyone.
I am new to beekeeping and have a nucleus which is now on 6 frames and I'm feeding them sugar syrup as suggested by the man I got the bees from. I have been reading about ambrosia and wondering if anyone has used it and what they think of it? It sounds really good but I don't want to buy into a marketing ploy that is no different to sugar syrup.

Thanks
Sarah
:confused:

Hi Sarah

Welcome. 'My' bees like sugar syrup. I like sugar syrup because it's nice n cheap.

The advantage of Ambrosia is that the bees don't have to work on it so much to convert the sugar to a more useable form (the formulation is close to that of nectar, apparently). I figure that the bees have got a lot of time on their hands and there are a lot of them :)

By the way, your bees should be bringing in their own supply of nectar at this time of year so you may be feeding them needlessly (an even cheaper option)!

Last edited:
Hi everyone. and
I am new to beekeeping and have a nucleus which is now on 6 frames and I'm feeding them sugar syrup as suggested by the man I got the bees from. I have been reading about ambrosia and wondering if anyone has used it and what they think of it? It sounds really good but I don't want to buy into a marketing ploy that is no different to sugar syrup.

Thanks
Sarah
:confused:

various makers of similar part inverted sugar including german sugar beet processors nordsucher and Sudsurcher sold again under varius names Ambrosia ,Apiinvert, and Cerestar

praised as the best thing since sliced bread by some, thought expensive by others

test on production of royal jelly in link below

http://www.apimondia.com/apiacta/articles/2006/sest_sug_rj.pdf