Advice about Apiguard gel please

Beekeeping Forum

Help Support Beekeeping Forum:

River Bee 

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
none
I am very new to beekeeping, received Nuc end of June and have just noticed the first signs of varroa dropping through the mesh on to floor board. I have been given a round tray of Apiguard to lay on top of the brood box. But I am confused - does the queen excluder sheet go below the Apiguard? I am thinking that I will use an empty super to provide the extra space needed for the apiguard, so the queen excluder could go on top of this. Then on top of that my current super. Can anyone give me the correct order?

Does the Apiguard affect the honey in the super in any way?

Presumably, because I need to keep the fumes in the hive, it should not be opened again for about 2 weeks when the next application of apiguard goes in? Is this correct????

Reaction score
Hive Type
none
Number of Hives
0 - Now in beeless retirement!
Sorry if this sounds a bit obvious but read the instructions first.

The tray can go above the queen excluder if you are using one.

Do not treat if there is a super on from which you are going to extract honey.

There needs to be a minimum of 2cm gap above the tray. You can use an empty super do create this.

You can open up whenever you like within reason.

Close down the hive if possible with an entrance reducer and keep the varroa tray in.

Moggs 

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12