Acetic acid

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OldFarm

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am debating using acetic acid to fumigate a hive that failed this winter, I've never used it before. There seems to be 2 ways of going about it: bottom up (pad soaked in acetic acid at the bottom of the stack and between each box in the stack, as directed by Thornes) or top down (stack of boxes plus an empty box on top, then a dish of acetic acid in the empty top box). Top down looks like the safer option as it minimises bee keeper exposure. Have seen suggestions of sealing gaps between boxes with tape and putting the stack in a very large bag, wheelie bin type bag. PPE is important, and the view of what's reasonable seems highly variable. Have seen some advise that says wait until the weather is warmer, but other sources don't take temperature into account.

Looking for advise and observations.

I am debating using acetic acid to fumigate a hive that failed this winter, I've never used it before. There seems to be 2 ways of going about it: bottom up (pad soaked in acetic acid at the bottom of the stack and between each box in the stack, as directed by Thornes) or top down (stack of boxes plus an empty box on top, then a dish of acetic acid in the empty top box). Top down looks like the safer option as it minimises bee keeper exposure. Have seen suggestions of sealing gaps between boxes with tape and putting the stack in a very large bag, wheelie bin type bag. PPE is important, and the view of what's reasonable seems highly variable. Have seen some advise that says wait until the weather is warmer, but other sources don't take temperature into account.