a reBees lost

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Silver

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi
Im new to beekeeping, I set up my first hive last year after a 28 year permission from the wife wait!

I obtained the bees from a local friend, but had a niggle about the quality of them. However they seemed very busy and quite prolific, but I did notice a lot of bees wandering around in the front of the hive looking somewhat lost - i spent time picking them up and putting then on the landing board. I then treated for Varroa in September, after I had harvested the honey, unfortunately late last year I had a feeling and inspected the hive on a warmish day, it was completely dead. I was clearly intrigued what had finished them off, and on closer inspection ( I had a board placed under the hive) when i took the hive apart I found varroa, on speaking to my "supplier" he said ahh yeah varroa. In my opinion the hive simply wasn't strong enough to cope with the varroa that were clearly endemic in my hive.

I have now ordered two overwintered Nuc's from a reputable supplier, that guarantees bug free etc, so whilst I intend keeping them that way, it produces a number of questions for me.

I have a relatively full brood box, with the exception of the main brood chambers which I have destroyed, the rest are packed full with stores, however these have been treated with Varroa packs late last year. I also have a super which is mostly full of 60-80% developed comb and some stores. I am aware that these cant be harvested, but I would like opinions on if they can be used as stores for my new NUC's, as if they can then this will give them a great start for the new year - when they arrive of course!