A new colony running out of space to lay brood

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NoBBy

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am in my first year of Bee Keeping and now have 2 colonies. I need some advice on my second colony.

Today checked a colony I got 2 weeks ago on 6 frames. They have now drawn out 8 1/2 frames however these are packed with stores. When I got the colony it had 4 full frames of brood but now it only has 3 and on about 50% of the frame the rest of the frames are full of stores. There is a great deal of capped honey. It looks like they are bringing in nectar faster than they are drawing out the comb and the queen is running out of space to lay. I saw the queen and there are eggs. There is loads of brace comb under the crown board with honey/nectar in.

I am wondering what to do? I don't have any drawn brood or super comb. There is loads of Balsam nearby. Do I just leave them to get on with it and draw out the other 3 ½ frames or put a super on with foundation in the hope that they might draw it out quicker above the nest?

i think you need some advice from polyhive.

hopefully it's not too late to split the brood with a frame of foundation and bruise and turn the first frames of stores to increase brood area.

Just wondering if you have been feeding them?

Tom

Not fed either coloney but this one just appear to be very productive. My other colony are a more black coloured Bee and dont seem as busy but have a more brood and less stores.

maybe you can swap a frame of brood from one hive for a frame of food. Then in 2 weeks time that frame will be ready for the queen to lay in,

NoBBy

You're now configured with 11 frames on National brood?

If you saw the Q and eggs - leave them to it, imo don't add a super.

richard