2 swarms in 1 week...complete beginner & just wax foundation

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RichardK

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Dadant
Number of Hives
Ideally 3 to 5.
When I started on this journey into bee keeping I knew I could purchase bees - but we're renovating our house right now and frankly, that's where most of the money is going. So...after far too many hours of YouTube I decided to try and catch a swarm. I don't have any old comb which seems to be the most important bit, but you use what you've got right? So a 5 frame OSB bait hive, just under 40 litres before the frames. 2 frames with full wax foundation sheet and 3 with 1/3 sheet - mounted in an almond tree with the entrance facing south.

Long story short, an hour ago a swarm arrived in the bait hive in my garden - the second one this week!

This is mad. Fun though. Here's a little video for you all:
View attachment Swarm Wednesday May 19 2021.mp4

You're very lucky! I spent two seasons, whilst I was still researching beekeeping, trying to tempt a swarm. We'd had a couple of swarms in the garden over the years before, so I knew there was a chance. Like you, I had no old comb, so tried a bit of foundation, and some swarm lure, lemongrass oil etc. I had three bait hives out for two years and never got anything. Eventually I couldn't wait any longer, so just had to bite the bullet and pay out for bees.
Have you bought a lottery ticket lately? :D

I put a bait hive up last year in my garden.. Lo and behold i caught a ladies swarm from across the road... She wasnt best pleased