First swarm.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I had one swarm from my hive about a week ago but they decided to go back in.
Then had two swarm from my hive a couple of days ago on the first day of weather good enough to open up and inspect!
Didn't manage to catch either.
Woman down the road had two swarms from her hive same day, could not catch either.
I am only in my third year but this is ridiculous there are swarms everywhere!
did it not occur to both of you to reduce the number of QCs down to one thus avoiding them constantly throwing casts thus continuously bleeding off all of your foraging force?

I had one swarm from my hive about a week ago but they decided to go back in.
Then had two swarm from my hive a couple of days ago on the first day of weather good enough to open up and inspect!
Didn't manage to catch either.
Woman down the road had two swarms from her hive same day, could not catch either.
Yesterday I was in the veg garden and watched a swarm turn up in next doors garden.
Head hight, did not bother with the Nuc as they have refused to stay put in it.
So emptied them out into a hive I had setup.
Still there this morning. My first successful swarm catch.
I am only in my third year but this is ridiculous there are swarms everywhere!
Very strong hive overwintered on brood and a half hive swarmed in warm weather last week,caught and put in new hive with some capped brood. 1st hive swarmed again this a.m. No eggs but QC. Suspect i missed QC last time.No more hives so have combined 2nd swarm with weaker hive with no eggs/brood (over paper).So hive 1 with QC.,Hive 2 combined with swarm,so hope with virgin Q.
Hive 3, caught swarm with presumably Q not mated/ not laying yet. Lets hope it all settles down